dulcis serenus

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Zombie Apocalypse! …and a fruit salad September 13, 2011

Okay, so I know that the Zombocalypse has nothing to do with baking, or cooking at all for that matter considering zombies prefer their human flesh raw, but I figured my loyal blog readers (Hi, Mom!) wouldn’t mind if I deviated from my usual blogging theme to give you some great news.  My boyfriend has been working very diligently for the past few months to write a book, and it officially became alive today!  We’re super excited and can’t wait for everyone to read it.

G has always been a writer; he majored in English (not the teaching aspects of it, just English) in college and even has a master in the same.  His family and I have been privileged to read bits and pieces of his work over the years, and may of us (especially his brother) have been trying to convince him that he should publish his work.  It took me sending him this article about Amanda Hocking and her adventure in self publishing in the form of eBooks, to convince him that, not only could he publish his work, but that people would read it.  Especially since his book would be much better than her unedited, cliche young adult novels.  I’m not being judgmental here, I downloaded and read two of the books from her Trylle trilogy and they are full of grammatical mistakes and contradictions, but I have to admit that her characterizations are good and the story is of a popular theme.  She knows her audience and how to reach them despite her lack of proper editing skills and original ideas.  G figured that if this untrained girl could earn millions from her self-published eBooks, he might as well give it a try, and he did in the form of Zombies Ate My Film Fest, a novel set right here in Austin, Texas at one of our favorite film festivals, Fantastic Fest.

I was one of the lucky few to get to read an advanced copy of the novel to help him edit it, and I have to say that it is damn good.  The story is clever, funny, and has the right amount of action mixed with just a small hint of a love story.  His zombies are like none other I have seen before (and I have read a lot of zombie books), and the nerdy-ness of the protagonist makes him completely loveable, despite his cowardly faults.  I think fans of Fantastic Fest will love all of the references to the festival, it’s creators, and those who attend, but non-Fantastic Fest-ers will still find the story an entertaining and enjoyable read.

So, please visit G’s website and download the book; it will only cost you 99 cents!  If you don’t have an eBook device, don’t worry: you can install the Adobe Digital Editions onto your computer from Lulu before you download the novel.

***Update: G and his novel get mentioned by USA Today’s Pop Candy Blogger Whitney Matheson!***

***Further  Update: The Austin Post online wrote a front page article about the book!  Read it here.***

Now for all of you who stuck around long enough to read my advertising ploy, here’s a recipe for a Fruit Salad that I made this last 4th of July, but never managed to post:

My grandfather used to grow watermelon on his farm and, since we spent every 4th of July at his house (it was also his birthday), there were always plenty to go around.  My brothers, cousins, and I would sit on picnic tables and eat large wedges of the super ripe fruit still warm from the sun and have contests to see who could spit the seeds farther.  I never won, but would always participate because Grandpa told me that if I swallowed any seeds, I would grow a watermelon in my belly.  (Imagine my surprise the first time I saw a pregnant lady!)   Because of these memories, my 4th of July always includes watermelon.  This year it came in the form of a fruit salad.

Here’s what you need:

1  watermelon

1 pinapple

1 large package of grapes

juice and zest of two limes

Here’s what you do:

This really isn’t much of a recipe: you simply cut up all of your fruit (I left my grapes whole), mix it together with the zest and juice of two limes, and refrigerate until everything is nice and cold.

The hardest part about this salad is cutting up the pineapple, but I have a method that works every time.

1.  Cut off the top and bottom of the pinapple

2.  Stand the pineapple on the now flat bottom and slice down the sides with a serrated knife to remove the skin

3.  Cut the pineapple in half and then fourths

4.  Lay the fourths, cut side down, on the cutting board and cut in towards the center at an angle to remove the core

5.  Cube the pineapple flesh into bite sized pieces

 

3 Responses to “Zombie Apocalypse! …and a fruit salad”

  1. As I’ve said many times, about many things that you have done: you’re the best!

  2. Joseph Says:

    The fruit salad looks good enough to marry! What? Pee Wee Herman did it once…

  3. Nelli Says:

    Just a thought…maybe the aroma of this fruit salad could stun the zombies as well????


Leave a Reply

