dulcis serenus

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Strawberry-Lemon Tart and a Birthday Celebration July 17, 2011

Today is a very special and exciting day: my boyfriend’s little sister is turning 24, and she loves to celebrate!  Now, I know that everyone loves their birthday, but JW really loves her birthday, and that makes the anticipation of the day so much more exciting.  Thanks to her boyfriend’s careful planning, the celebrations started last night with a Master Pancake show and will come to an end on Sunday in the form of seeing the last Harry Potter.  Between the bookends of two great viewing experiences there are a multitude of activities and surprises.  One of which is this Strawberry-Lemon Tart and I have no doubt that she will love it, after all,  her favorite flavor of dessert is lemon.

This tart was created by combining a few of my favorite recipes: the crust is from one of my favorite blogs Dessert First and the lemon curd is an Ina Garden recipe.  I covered the top in a fruit glaze to keep the strawberries fresh and give everything a nice sheen.  I have to say that I am really happy with how it turned out.

Happy 24th birthday, JW!

Thanks for being the little sister I never had, but always wanted.  You are truly an amazing person and I am grateful to have you in my life.


 

2 Responses to “Strawberry-Lemon Tart and a Birthday Celebration”

  1. Joseph Says:

    Wow. I am already thinking about what I want for MY birthday!

    • Joe, that would require us to be in the same state at the same time…I’m not sure that is going to happen next January, unless you want to come visit us!!! Or, I could send you a care package, I suppose, but I definitely think I would prefer the former. In all seriousness, though, I will make you whatever you want and send it to you. Just ask and you shall receive.


Leave a Reply

