dulcis serenus

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Vegan Shorbread Cookies March 24, 2011

Theses Vegan Shortbread Cookies are the second installment in a short series entitled: “What I’m Baking for the Online Bake Sale for Japan,” and they are amazing!  They are like pecan sandies without the pecans: they are crunchy and slightly crumbly with the buttery goodness of a regular shortbread cookie, but without the dairy and eggs.  I love them and I know you will, too.  I sent some in my boyfriend’s lunch yesterday and he texted me after lunch to tell me that they were “of the chain.”  They get their buttery taste and flaky crumble from butter flavored vegetable shortening and are made with raw sugar to give them a little more crunch.  They’re especially good with a little jam on top!  (Which will be the subject of my next post.)  If you win these cookies in the silent auction on March 30th, you will receive 20 shortbreads in a decorative tin.

Here’s what you need:

1 cup sugar (I used raw sugar)

2 2/3 cups flour

1 cup butter flavored vegetable shortening, very cold (I put mine in the freezer for a couple of hours)

4 Tbls water

1 Tbls vanilla

Here’s what you do:

Place the dry ingredients into a large bowl.  Cut the vegetable shortening into the dry ingredients using a pastry cutter until the shortening is in very small pieces.  Add the water and vanilla and mix well.  I usually start out mixing with the pastry cutter and finish by using my hands to combine everything into a ball.

Roll out the cookie dough on a floured surface until it is about a quarter inch thick.  Cut out rounds with a cookie cutter, re-rolling the dough a couple of times to use it all.

Dip the top of the cookies in sugar sprinkles and place on a greased cookie sheet.

Bake 350 degrees for about 18-20 minutes.  The cookies will puff up slightly and be lightly browned around the edges.  Remove to a wire rack to cool completely.  While they are warm, they will be soft and slightly doughy in the center, but will crisp up as they cool.

Makes about 20, 3 inch cookies.

 

2 Responses to “Vegan Shorbread Cookies”

  1. […] I always have in my pantry.  It’s so very versatile.  I particularly love to use it to dress up cookies.  I’ve made jam before, but have never canned it, so this was a learning experience for […]

  2. Joseph Says:

    While I don’t care for Vegan’s, those do look good! I never trust people not wanting to prove to the other species that they are on top of the food chain.


Leave a Reply

