dulcis serenus

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cake Mix Cookies January 21, 2011

I had a very eventful holiday season with tons of baking (I promise some recipes soon) and lots of traveling.  It has taken me a while to get back into the groove of being home again, but I think, today, I’m finally there.  I was sitting at my very messy desk earlier thinking about how I should clean it sometime in the foreseeable future when I was suddenly struck by the urge to bake something.  Since baking is my favorite procrastination activity, I searched out something to make.  Let me tell you that our house is not lacking in sweet treats to eat.  This week was my birthday and, thanks to the wonderful man in my life, I have not one but two birthday cakes in the fridge.  However, I still felt the need to bake something, so I went for a tasty treat that is, not only easy to make, but as far from chocolate birthday cake as I could get.  I first made Cake Mix Cookies in college when I didn’t have a lot of money or spare time to spend on baking.  They are so super easy, versatile, and taste amazing.  The basic cookie recipe is: a cake mix, oil, and eggs.  That’s it.  Nothing more needed to have a great, and tasty cookie.  However…why stop there?  Why not add in a few more things to make these cookies even more amazing?  Some chocolate chips?  Sure.  How about some nuts or fresh fruit?  Definitely!  The combinations are endless.  I think this is my favorite, though.  There is absolutely nothing wrong with a lemony cookie filled with white chocolate and little bits of fresh cherries.  The first bite is just heavenly.

Here’s what you need:

1 boxed cake mix (lemon)

1/2 cup oil

2 eggs

1 cup add-ins (1/2 cup white chocolate chips plus 1/2 cup, or so, quartered fresh cherries)

Here’s what you do:

In a large mixing bowl, combine the cake mix, oil, and eggs.  I start out with a whisk to get things going and finish with a wooden spoon to make sure everything is well combined.   Next, mix in your choice of add-ins until they are evenly dispersed throughout the batter.  Spoon onto a cookie sheet, leaving about two inches between cookies.  Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 10 to 15 minutes, until golden brown.  The plain cookies will take about 10 minutes, but ones with fresh fruit will take closer to 15 minutes.  Let the cookies rest on the cookie sheet for about a minute and remove to a wire rack to cool.  Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

 

Leave a Reply

