dulcis serenus

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ms. Shannon’s Rhubarb Cake!! November 30, 2010

Rhubarb can be a tough sell with a lot of people: it looks like red celery, it’s extremely tart, and most people can’t even decide for sure if it’s a fruit or a vegetable.  That being said, I love rhubarb!  I don’t think that it gets enough recognition.  If cooked correctly, it has the perfect balance of sweet and tart, plus it’s a terrific source of Vitamin C, iron, and fiber.  I generally enjoy my rhubarb in the form of pie, however, last year my friend and former co-worker, Shannon, shared this wonderful Rhubarb Cake with me and it is the most amazing thing.  It lies somewhere between cake and pie, is covered in crunchy nuts, and enveloped in a sweet, vanilla scented glaze that counteracts the tartness of the rhubarb.  It is the perfect rhubarb recipe.  People who think that they don’t like rhubarb like this cake.  How could they not?  It’s irresistible.

Here’s what you need:

cake:

1/2 cup butter

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 egg

1 cup sour milk (mix l cup milk with 1 Tbls. vinegar or lemon juice)

1 tsp. vanilla

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

3 to 4 cups rhubarb (1/4 inch thick if fresh; 2 16 ounce bags frozen, defrosted)

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup (or more) pecans or other nuts

glaze:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup evaporated milk

1/2 tsp. vanilla

Here’s what you do:

Cream together the butter and sugar, add the egg, milk, and vanilla.  Beat until smooth.  Mix together the flour, baking soda, and salt and mix into the creamed mixture.  Lastly, add the rhubarb and mix by hand until everything is well combined.

Grease and flour one 13X10 inch baking pan or two 8 inch square pans.  Pour the batter into your pan(s) and spread it out to make it level.  Top the cake mixture with the brown sugar and then the pecans.

Bake at 350 for approximately 45 minutes.  Because I used frozen rhubarb, I had to bake mine about 10 minutes longer.

To make the glaze, melt together the butter, sugar, and evaporated milk in a medium sauce pan.  Boil the mixture 3 1/2 minutes while stirring constantly.  Add in 1/2 tsp. vanilla and immediately pour over the hot cake(s).  Let cool completely before serving.  (I think I boiled my glaze a little too long.  It was supposed to sink into the cake a little more.  It’s still yummy, though)

 

One Response to “Ms. Shannon’s Rhubarb Cake!!”

  1. Joseph Says:

    I have not had much rhubarb before, but I wish I could try this. Save me some!


Leave a Reply

